Newest blogs

Newest albums

The Towns

Map of Westfjords
Map of Westfjords
In this section, we provide profiles of the primary towns and villages in the Westfjords. There are nine of these along the west coast of the Westfjords. Roughly from south to north they are Patreksfjörður, Tálknafjörður, Bíldudalur, Þingeyri, Flateyri, Suðureyri, Ísafjörður, to the west of Ísafjörður is Bolungarvik, and heading east along Djúp is Súðavik. On the east coast of the Westfjords are Hólmavík and Drangsnes, and in the south on Breiðafjörður are Reykhólar, Brjánslækur, and Flatey Island. 

For the purposes of this project, what distinguishes a town from the other named locations that one may see on a map (many of which are farms) is the availability of services, such as gas, groceries, and household supplies (which in many cases are available in the same establishment) and the presence of other businesses that provide employment to many of the people who live in the villages (shops of all sorts).

More than a thousand words...